Peer Award

Prairie Poetry - 1997 Edition
Winners of the 1997 Peer Awards

On August 1, 2001 the 1997 editions of Prairie Poetry were retired, with the exception of these award winning works.

Click on the links to read these excellent works recognized by their peers:

Joe Coffey - Prairie Haiku #2

Debra Kaufman - Flood of 94

Elisabeth Lee - In the Land of Bread

The Peer Awards were inaugurated in 1999. The awards for 1996, 1997, and 1998 were judged by individual authors. Beginning with the 1999 awards, authors whose work has been published at Prairie Poetry are invited to nominate three different poems for the Peer Award annually.

The criteria for nomination is that, in the judgement of their peers, the craft and vision embodied in these works merit special recognition. The three works receiving the most nominations for a calendar year are awarded this honor.

Enjoy These Editions of Prairie Poetry:

2007 All Months
2006 All Months
2005 All Months
2004 All Months
2003 Peer Awards
2002 Peer Awards
2001 Peer Awards
2000 Peer Awards
1999 Peer Awards
1998 Peer Awards
1997 Peer Awards
1996 Peer Awards


Prairie Poetry premiered with the May 1996 edition. New poetry appears monthly except in August. Poetry published in previous months is listed by author in the author index.

You may contact authors directly at their Email address in the biographies.

We hope you enjoy these poems. Please, send us your comments!

To learn how to have your poetry considered for publication at this site, click here.

Author Index | Biographies | Bookstore | Links | Peer Awards | Previous Editions | Publish | Home

Copyright © 1997 Marc duPlan

affinity resources